Call for Nominations

[Please forward and distribute]

You are invited to submit nominations to the 2012 PET Award.

The PET Award is presented annually to researchers who have made an outstanding contribution to the theory, design, implementation, or deployment of privacy enhancing technology. It is awarded at the annual Privacy Enhancing Technologies Symposium (PETS).

The PET Award carries a prize of 3000 USD thanks to the generous support of Microsoft. The crystal prize itself is offered by the Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario, Canada.

Any paper by any author written in the area of privacy enhancing technologies is eligible for nomination. However, the paper must have appeared in a refereed journal, conference, or workshop with proceedings published in the period from June 1, 2010 until March 31, 2012.

The complete Award rules including eligibility requirements can be found at

Anyone can nominate a paper by sending an email message containing the following to

All nominations must be submitted by March 31, 2012. The Award Committee will select one or two winners among the nominations received. Winners must be present at the PET Symposium in order to receive the Award. This requirement can be waived only at the discretion of the PET Advisory board.

More information about the PET award (including past winners) is available at

More information about the 2012 PET Symposium is available at

2012 Award Committee

Award Committee:
Roger Dingledine, Tor Project
Ian Goldberg, University of Waterloo
Nick Hopper, University of Minnesota
Adam Lee, University of Pittsburgh
Bradley Malin, Vanderbilt University
Aleecia McDonald, Mozilla
Steven Murdoch, Cambridge University
Vitaly Shmatikov, University of Texas at Austin
Adam Smith, Pennsylvania State University
Michael Waidner, Fraunhofer SIT
XiaoFeng Wang, Indiana University Bloomington