Call for Nominations

[Please forward and distribute]

You are invited to submit nominations for the 2021 Caspar Bowden Award for Outstanding Research in Privacy Enhancing Technologies.

The Caspar Bowden PET award is presented annually to researchers who have made an outstanding contribution to the theory, design, implementation, or deployment of privacy enhancing technologies. It is awarded at the annual Privacy Enhancing Technologies Symposium (PETS), and carries a cash prize as well as a physical award monument.

Any paper by any author written in the area of privacy enhancing technologies is eligible for nomination. However, the paper must have appeared in a refereed journal, conference, or workshop with proceedings published in the period from April 1, 2019 until March 31, 2021.

Note that we do not accept nominations for publications in conference proceedings when the dates of the conference fall outside of the nomination window. For example, a IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy (“Oakland”) paper made available on IEEE Xplore prior to the March 31 deadline would not be eligible, as the conference happens in May. Please note that PETS is associated with a journal publication, PoPETs, so any PoPETs paper published in an issue appearing before the March 31 deadline is eligible (which typically means only Issue 1 of the current year).

Anyone can nominate a paper by submitting a nomination via

Please include the following:

All nominations must be submitted by April 6, 2021. The award committee will select one or two winners among the nominations received. In prior years, we have had a requirement that the award winner appear at PETS in person to receive the award. In light of current circumstances, we are removing this requirement for the 2021 PET Award. The award winner is expected to attend PETS 2021 virtually and to make every effort to also attend the 2022 PETS (or one of PETS in the following years) in person, once covid-19 travel restrictions subside.

The complete Award rules including eligibility requirements can be found at

Caspar Bowden PET Award Chairs (
Panos Papadimitratos, Royal Institute of Technology / KTH (Sweden)
Simone Fischer-Hübner, Karlstad University
Caspar Bowden PET Award Committee
Ross Anderson, Cambridge University, UK
Rainer Böhme, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Jaap-Henk Hoepman, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Nick Hopper, University of Minnesota, USA
Dali Kaafar, Macquarie University, Australia
Apu Kapadia, Indiana University Bloomington , USA
Eleni Kosta, Tilburg University, The Netherlands
Kazue Sako, Waseda University, Japan
Pierangela Samarati, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Reza Shokri, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Jessica Staddon, Google, USA
Thorsten Strufe, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Paul Syverson, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Kunal Talwar, Apple, USA

More information about the Caspar Bowden PET award (including past winners) is available at